Wheel of Time CCG Errata
The following new rules, clarifications, and errata have been issued for the Premier, Dark Prophecies, and Children of the Dragon Editions of The Wheel of Time. Where possible, rules within each major heading are listed alphabetically, with card-specific rulings appearing last.
These rulings are are all included in the Version 2.0 rule book.
FAQ: 31 December, 2000
Mike Hummel (the lead designer) has created a list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Children of the Dragon.
New rules: 05 December, 2000
A card which is the target of a weapon advantage may not be targeted by another weapon advantage. As a limited event, a player may discard a non-Unique weapon advantage which targets a card he controls. If a Weapon advantage modifies damage caused by its target, it only affects the damage rolled by the target while it is participating in a challenge.
You may not play a Player Advantage on another player unless the card text specifically permits it.
New rules, errata, and errata retractions: 09 November, 2000
If a card's effect text allows you search your deck for one or more cards and place them in your hand, you may not choose to take a copy of the original card that was used to do the searching and place it in your hand.
The following errata are no longer necessary due to new general rules.
May only be played by a Hero player. Pay and rotate to search your deck for the first character card with a printed cost, place it in your hand, then shuffle a character card with a printed cost from your hand into your deck.
New rules and updates: 06 November, 2000
These rules will appear on the Children of the Dragon booster box insert.
This definition replaces the definition found on page 28 of the 1.0 rulebook.
The cost to recruit an Aiel character can only be paid for by ability symbols with the Aiel, Dark One, or Dragon allegiances.
No new allegiances are introduced in this expansion.
A character is considered to be a Car'a'carn if he is the target of the Car'a'carn character advantage and/or he has the bold face trait Car'a'carn. These two definitions are interchangeable for purposes of effect text on cards.
These terms are interchangeable. If a die result or ability symbol is ignored or negated, it is as if the result or symbol had never been rolled or generated.
All other players in a game are your opponents with the following exceptions:
A card is considered to have a Pattern requirement if it requires you to have a specified amount of Pattern, or if it requires a minimum total amount of Pattern in the game to be played.
Some characters in the game, such as the Ta'veren, have character cards which can replace them if certain requirements are met. All such replacements are considered to be the same personality of the first character in the replacement chain. This is true even if the character is replaced multiple times, and does not share a name in common as the card it replaced. For example, Young Bull is the same Personality as Perrin Aybara. Character cards sometimes use a portion of their card title within their effect text to refer to the Personality of the card. Mat Cauthon's effect text refers to Mat as the Personality of the card. All cards which replace Mat Cauthon are still the same Personality of Mat. Additionally, all cards which can target Mat can target Mat Cauthon and all cards which replace the Mat Personality.
added 28 November, 2000
If a card or effect would allow you to search your hand, deck, discard pile, or killed pile for a character card, it will only allow you to search for (and retrieve) the specific personality of the character which matches the character's printed title on the card or effect.
As of Children of the Dragon, these are all the personalities in the game:
If a card's text allows you to shuffle it from your hand into your deck to search your deck for another card and place it in your hand, you must first reveal the card being shuffled back into your deck to all players. When doing so, you need only shuffle your deck once (instead of twice) during this sequence of events. This shuffle comes after the retrieved card is placed your hand, and the original is returned to your deck.
A player may begin the game with one (and only one) Starting Advantage card. If a player chooses to begin play with a Starting Advantage, it comes into play after all players choose their starting hands, and does not count against the cards in his opening hand or deck. Otherwise, a Starting Advantage may be placed in his opening hand or deck, as per a normal advantage. Regardless of how a Starting Advantage enters play, once it is in play it cannot be the target of cards or effects.
If a card does not list a speed at which its effect may be used, it happens as an event.
New errata: 06 September, 2000
Change replacement character to replacement character with a Pattern requirement.
Strike the last sentence (As an event, discard...).
Add the following line to the end of the card:
This challenge is removed from play after it resolves.
Add the following line to the end of the card:
This challenge is removed from play after it resolves.
New errata: 15 August, 2000
Replace the effect text for The Pattern Decrees with:
You may only play this event once per turn. Target a number of characters and/or troops you control up to the number of tokens on your section of the pattern. When the targets roll their dice while participating in a challenge this turn, they additionally generate .
New errata: 21 July, 2000
Allegiance Specific Rules (page 28)
Under Aiel, remove or troop.
New definition: 20 July, 2000
Certain characters may participate in challenges as troops, and certain troops may participate as characters. This ability does not change the type of the card in any way. Characters participating as troops merely roll their dice during the Coming to Grips phase, and add damage to (and may take damage from) the troop damage pool. Troops participating as characters merely roll their dice during the Opening Moves phase, and add damage to (and may take damage from) the character damage pool.
New rules and errata: 27 June, 2000
The following new rules and errata address the issues of damage, being killed, and the ever-popular Compulsion/Darkfriend issue.
Page 23 - Damage
No mortally wounded character or troop may be assigned additional damage until all eligible characters and troops are also mortally wounded.
Page 23 - Effects of Damage
Page 26 - Step 1, Discard the Dead
Any character or troop that is currently mortally wounded is placed in a pile next to the discard pile, called the "killed pile".
Page 26 - Victory and Defeat
Replace killed with mortally wounded.
If an effect would place a character or troop in a player's control (such as the expiration of Compulsion), and that card could not be legally controlled (for example, if it now has an invalid allegiance), the character and all attached cards are placed in their owner's respective discard piles.
There seems to be some confusion about which traits are allegiances. There are exactly 10 possible allegiances at the current time:
Any other boldface trait is, at least for now, only a trait and not an allegiance. Also, any reference to an allegiance in boldface is identical to the phrase "... has the ** allegiance".
cards with no cost
Cards with no cost (no symbols in the lower right corner) are not valid targets for effects which refer to the cost of their target.
Villain Players can not control any Ta'veren, Starting Hero, or card with the Dragon Allegiance, and Hero Players can not control any Starting Villain or card with the Dark One Allegiance. Any effect that would attempt to attach an illegal allegiance is ignored. (This is an addition to the current Allegiance rules.)
killing a card
Some cards use the word kill in their effect. To kill a card, move it directly to the killed pile.
No events may be played in any given turn until dominance has been determined.
rotating cards in a challenge
In order to generate symbols in a challenge, character and troops must rotate. Rotating to generate symbols in a challenge is voluntary. A participant can stand around as a target dummy if you desire and not rotate to generate symbols.
The following steps are all considered simultaneous:
Children of the Light
Children of the Light characters and troops you control can not participate in the same challenge as Aes Sedai, Dark One, or Dragon characters and troops you control, unless those Children of the Light cards also have the same allegiance (Aes Sedai, Dark One, or Dragon) as the cards with which they would participate.
Although the rulebook does not say this word for word, nothing changes between the Opening Moves and Coming to Grips aspect of dice resolution. Under Coming to Grips, it should also read Generating symbols during this step is considered simultaneous, and no actions may be taken or events played, except ones which allow rerolls, until both players are finished.
Be'lal (Dark Prophecies)
Replace discard this card with discard this card from your hand.
Callandor is a sa'angreal, and works like all other angreal. You roll the dice for Callandor at the same time your are rolling the One Power dice for the target character, and those dice are considered to be from the target character.
Add the boldface item Unique. This indicates that only one copy of Callandor may be in play at any given time. Otherwise, both Be'lal and Rand could have one, and that just wouldn't be right...
Replace the effect text for Charge with:
Play this card during the Opening Moves step of a challenge. For each you pay, target one troop you control participating in that challenge. Rotate the target troops, roll their dice, and add the results to your pools.
For you to play Compulsion, you must have more pattern than the number of symbols you would have to pay to recruit that character.
Defensive Measures may not be used in the Last Battle.
Replace the effect text for Future Returns with:
Pay any ability symbol as a limited event to place an investment token on this card. Rotate this card and remove 5 investment tokens to draw a card.
Replace Ability with Permanent Ability.
High Lord Samon adds High Lord to Be'lal's title.
Replace sponsored with recruited.
Replace Ability with Permanent Ability.
Juilin Sandar can only target non-hero and non-villain characters with his ability.
Replace conflict with challenge.
Sabotage may not be in a player's opening hand.
Replace the effect text for Taking Advantage with:
When you play an advantage that has a printed cost, you may draw a card. [Playing this card does not trigger its own effects.]
To use Rand's ability (or similar questions with Lord Edorian) you must pay an appropriate symbol from Rand (or a High Lord). If this reduces the card's cost to zero, the symbol is still lost.
The Ta'veren's damage negation ability (using pattern) can be used to remove any amount of damage from the opponents' character damage pools whenever a Ta'veren is participating in the challenge. (See also the targeted damage comment below.)
The dragonsworn have no cost to recruit. You may recruit them without needing any one at the homefront.
Each effect completes before any other effect can begin.
At any appropriate time, the Subordinate Player can say "I want to play an event" or "(this particular time to play an event) is about to end and I don't want to play an event, do you?" In either case, if the Dominant Player decides to play an event (or event-like effect), the Subordinate Player can also decide at that point. If the Dominant Player passes, the Subordinate Player must play or pass as he said before. In all cases, after either player plays an event, his opponent gets the next opportunity to play an event. If the opponent passes his opportunity, and then the original event-player chooses not to play another event, that event-playing-opportunity ends. The Dominant Player can ask the Subordinate Player if he is going to play an event at any of these event-playing times (before any events have been played in one) without having to commit to whether he will play an event or not.
An example, after damage has been distributed in a challenge: The Dominant Player wants to play an event. He (for nefarious reasons) wants to know if the Subordinate Player intends to play one also, so he asks. The Subordinate Player says "yes," and the Dominant Player wants to see this event before he plays his so he passes his first opportunity. The Subordinate Player now must play an event (or event-like effect). The Dominant Player is utterly surprised by this event and it ruins the use of the event he was intending to play, so he passes again. If the Subordinate Player plays another event, the Dominant Player will have the opportunity to play an event after that. If he doesn't, the challenge finishes resolving with no further opportunity for event play.
Replacement is an event-like effect. When replacing characters, the replacement has the same status in all respects:
Some damage is targeted. Such damage does not go into the damage pools, and is applied before pool damage. Ta'veren can still use pattern to negate such damage.
targeting characters in the battlefield
During the action round, step 2, you can play advantages on characters in the battlefield (or even standing down).
while participating in a challenge
A target is considered to be a participant/participating in a challenge from the moment they commit to the challenge (when tokens are revealed, it reinforces, etc) until the moment the challenge in which they are participating is resolved. This may mean you occasionally need to keep track of the pools for a challenge before the challenge round begins. Those pools can not be used until the challenge is being resolved.
While participating effects can be generated with symbols from the Action Round, or from earlier-resolved challenges.
The symbol generated from A Stroke of Luck is as if the character rolled it. It has the same allegiance(s), and is the same type.
If Al'cair'rahienallen is used with A Stroke of Luck to generate an Intrigue symbol, you do not also generate a Damage symbol.
A card can not be "ready, but killed." A card in the killed pile is neither ready nor rotated. Andoran Spearmen can use their special ability if they have damage equal to or greater than their highest ability.
Aura of Death is the source of the damage. Add the following line to the card:
May not target a Ta'veren unless he has one or more damage tokens on him.
Circle of Light does not retroactivly turn your existing Mercenaries into Children of the Light if they were in play before you played Circle of Light.
This includes any doubling for allegiance (if you control no characters of the target allegiance) and for Light Nature. Generally, no discounts (like paying pattern) can be applied to this. You control the character for the whole turn following the turn you play Compulsion. Control allows you to treat the character as if it were a character in your faction for all intents and purposes. Note that there are restrictions on what cards a player can control (see above).
Defensive Measures may be played in the Action Round. It may be played during one challenge while targetting troops in a different challenge. It can not be played during the Coming to Grips phase.
Distractions may be played at any time you could normally play an event, limited to times when there are troops participating in a challenge.
To control the Horn of Valere, you must have 20 more tokens than any other single player. Once you control it, it is no longer a Contested Advantage. There is no loss of pattern for discarding or otherwise losing Horn of Valere.
Lord Edorian's effect triggers on card titles.
Lord Lir's ability may be used a maximum of once per turn. You may use his ability during the Opening Moves, regardless of how much damage is on Lord Lir.
The symbols for The Truth They Tell have to come from initial generation (unless you have some effect which allows you to rotate other characters during your Action Round). You may choose different challenges, and it is possible to put symbols into pools for challenges before the challenge has started to resolve.
© 1999-2017 Penguin Flight Dynamics
This page was last modified on|
Friday, 02 August 2002 at 11:56 PDT.